Cricket:Pakistan’s ODI squad  against Sri Lanka announced


By Muhammad Luqman

Pakistan Head Coach and Chief Selector, Misbah-ul-Haq, has named a 16-member squad for three ODIs against Sri Lanka, being played from 27 September to 2 October in the port city of Karachi.

Abid Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Usman Shinwari and Mohammad Hasnain have been recalled.

Hasan Ali who recently married an Indian girl, misses out his place in the side due to a backache. He will undergo rehab at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Lahore.

The squad for the three T20Is against Sri Lanka in Lahore will be announced during the one-day series.

Misbah-ul-Haq  while announcing the squad in  eastern city  of Lahore ,said after thorough discussions with the members of the selection committee and meticulous planning, he feels  “we have put together the best possible squad”.

“These are the only 50-over matches we have this season and we want to make their optimum use. Over the course of my cricketing career, I have realised there are no easy games and there are no easy opponents in cricket,” he said.

Misbah added a season-opening series is crucial for setting the tone. “It is extremely important that we produce solid performances and have favourable results. It will build the confidence of our players and help in carrying the momentum Down Under,” he said.

He explained, “The five boys, who have been recalled, were straightforward selections. Iftikhar Ahmed is a batsman who can also bowl off-spin, providing the captain with necessary bowling depth as Sri Lanka boasts a few left-handers in their ranks. Mohammad Nawaz has been performing well in domestic matches. Despite their strong performances, Mohammad Rizwan, Usman Shinwari and Abid Ali were unlucky to miss out the World Cup squad.”


Members  of the ODI Squad are:  1. Sarfaraz Ahmed (captain), 2. Babar Azam (vice-captain), 3. Abid Ali

  1. Asif Ali 5. Fakhar Zaman 6. Haris Sohail 7. Iftikhar Ahmed 8. Imad Wasim 9. Imam-ul-Haq 10. ohammad Amir 11. Mohammad Hasnain 12. Mohammad Nawaz 13. Mohammad Rizwan 14. Shadab Khan 15. Usman Shinwari 16. Wahab Riaz

Pak VS SLanka Series


27 Sep – 1st ODI, National Stadium, Karachi

29 Sep – 2nd ODI, National Stadium, Karachi

2 Oct – 3rd ODI, National Stadium, Karachi

5 Oct – 1st T20I, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

7 Oct – 2nd T20I, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

9 Oct – 3rd T20I, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here